sarangani seal sarangani lumad sarangani pots tarsier beach in sarangani scuba diving



Sarangani is a province of the Philippines located in the SOCCSKSARGEN region in Mindanao.

Its capital is Alabel and borders South Cotabato to the north and Davao del Sur to the east. To the south lies the Celebes Sea, while it sandwiches at the center the highly urbanized city of General Santos.

The province is divided into two parts, separated by the Sarangani Bay, and it used to be part of South Cotabato until it was made an independent province in 1992.

Sarangani is surrounded by the Celebes Sea, Sarangani Bay, and the provinces of South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat and Davao del Sur.

The province is also the coastal zone of SOCSKSARGEN (South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, General Santos City), one of the country’s fast growing development clusters.

sarangani capitol

It has seven municipalities (Alabel, Malapatan, Glan, Malungon, Maasim, Kiamba, and Maitum) with 140 barangays. Alabel, the provincial capital, is only 16 kilometers from General Santos City.

Sarangani has a total land area of 4,100.42 square kilometers. Among the municipalities comprising the province, Malungon is the biggest with 896.63 sq. km. followed by Glan. Maitum is the smallest with only 324.35 sq. km.

With the province’s strategic geographical location, it has great potential of becoming an industrial zone in Region 12.


sarangani map